Values. Commitment.

Last week I wrote about the Agile methodology. In the next several posts I will write about the Agile values. Many of them will be common for different teams e.g associations, non-government organizations, music bands, startups, small companies and international corporations.

Commitment. Before I provide the definition I will assume that we couldn’t talk about commitment without giving its context e.g tasks, duties. People may be involved in some project and not involved in others in the same time. We would like to paint our parents flat, and don’t want to do it for our parents-in-law ;)

Moreover, it won’t be very surprising if I say that people are able to work without any commitment. For this reason, we will also work for our parents-in-law.

Furthermore, different people may have different opinions about the commitment of specific person. These opinions depend on the their knowledge about the project and their expectations. Our mother-in-law may be dissatisfied with our work because of the noise, mess and maybe all takes longer than she expected. In the same time our father-in-law could be pleased because we are taking care about the quality.

Finally, random people aren’t able to assess our commitment. Our mother-in-low requires that we do our job quickly, because she don’t like mess. Our father-in-law wants that we do our job well, because he don’t want to repair anything after us. In this case, our clients have different expectations which might cause conflicts. Unfortunately they’re both right and we have a quite big problem ;) To solve this problem we need to understand our needs. Understanding is more than knowing.

The commitment is a measure of activity of team members during some project, measured by whole team. A team is a group of people, with common goal, who know and understand their needs and expectations. A team is a group of people who try to meet all expectations established during its lifetime. Involved people have ideas and try to solve their problems. Uninvolved people have duties and stop because of the problems.

8 thoughts on “Values. Commitment.

  1. First of all I would like to say terrific blog! I had a quick
    question that I’d like to ask if you do not mind. I was interested
    to know how you center yourself and clear your mind prior to writing.
    I have had a hard time clearing my mind in getting my ideas out.
    I do take pleasure in writing however it just seems like the first 10 to 15 minutes tend to be wasted simply just trying to figure out how to begin. Any recommendations or
    tips? Cheers!

    • I think that the first few sentences are the most difficult. It is natural that you try to write something and after a some time you are finally satisfied. For me these problems are a challenge. When I go through them I know that I write an article because I want, not because someone order me to do this. Then I feel happy :)

  2. Thank you, I have just been searching for information approximately this topic for a while and
    yours is the greatest I’ve came upon so far. However,
    what concerning the bottom line? Are you
    certain concerning the source?

Leave a Reply

