Deadline is coming….

dilbert2Do you ever wonder what gives you energy to work? Last time I thought about different ways of motivating people.

One way is declaring a deadline. Unfortunately, not in my case… I don’t need deadlines to be disciplined. To be disciplined… that’s the goal, isn’t it?

One may say that tight deadline is the most effective. It is a challenge, isn’t it? In my opinion tight deadline may be a challenge when we talking about reducing a working time on specified task permanently. Unfortunately, in most cases tight deadline is set because someone is in a hurry. Then, we sacrifice a quality…. then we have even more problems.

So what motivates me? I like to feel a sense of my work regardless of a deadline. Is it strange? Check this out: How deadlines can murder a motivation?

When I need to motivate myself to do something I don’t enjoy, I use rewards and deadlines – and, no doubt, I’m better off for doing that. But, when I already enjoy doing something (and given that I am a disciplined person), then I just need to let nature take its course.

What motivates you?

Leave a Reply

