Your performance… meets expectations.

What does it mean to meet expectations? Why is it so frustrating to heard that our job met expectations only? When I heard this sentence for the first time I felt very strange. Ok. How can I be better than it was expected? – I thought. What was expected from me year ago?

The truth might be cruel. This sentence means nothing! Really. It is the simplest and safest solution for managers who don’t want to talk with the people about their work regularly and have to evaluate them once a year. Unfortunately these words prevent employees to be proud and creative. Why should I make an extra effort if I’m not going to get recognized for it? I will do what is expected and nothing more. It is a race and I’m going to win ;)

What do you think about this? Is it worth to participate in such race?

Leave a Reply

